h1

Lemon-Garlic Green Beans

April 23, 2012

 

Green beans are probably among my favorite vegetables, and definitely have been for as long as I can remember.  They go with everything!  We ate a lot of green beans growing up.  Not fresh green beans, though.  Actually, I refused to eat fresh green beans for the longest time.  They were too crispy, and I thought that was weird.  Besides, they tasted too green.  No, with all the culinary sensibilities of a kid, I refused to eat green beans unless they came from a can (don’t even try to give me that weak frozen crap).  They were the best, especially if they were the french cut kind, and they were my mom’s go to.  Open a can of green beans and a can of corn, throw them in a bowl, and microwave for 3 minutes and you had vegetables all three kids would willingly eat (I refused to eat corn, while I think my brother didn’t like green beans).

I don’t know if I my kid self would have willingly eaten these, but adult me loves them!  With only about 10 minutes more effort than my childhood canned beans, these lemon and garlic beans pack a lot more flavorful and delicious punch.

 

Ingredients (serves 4):

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lb green beans, trimmed

1/2 onion, cut into thin slices

1 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Cook garlic in olive oil over medium heat until fragrant.  Add the beans and onions, saute for 10-15 minutes, until beans are tender, but still crisp.  Stir in lemon juice, salt, and pepper before serving.

Leave a comment