h1

Garlic Roasted Chicken with Rosemary and Lemon

March 29, 2012

This is one of my favorite simple-yet-elegant recipes, I can’t believe I haven’t made it in over a year!  I was planning on making pasta with random vegetables in my fridge the other night for dinner, but sadly I only had one serving of pasta left.  I wasn’t about to head to the store, so instead I started shuffling around in my recipe box for something to make.  And lo, what did I stumble upon?  But this lovely recipe I had nearly forgotten about made with ingredients I always have on hand.  Love.

This roasted chicken is easy enough for a weeknight dinner, but it looks, smells, and tastes, delicious enough for company.  If you don’t cook with wine, you can substitute chicken broth instead, though some of the amazing aroma will definitely be lost.  This pairs well with roasted potatoes (like I did Monday night), but also with rice (like I did with the leftovers on Tuesday).  Either way, you’re in for a treat.

Ingredients (serves 4):

2 lb chicken breasts, chunked

6 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp dried rosemary

3 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp grill seasoning or salt and pepper

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 c white wine or chicken broth

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Arrange chicken in a baking dish and add garlic, rosemary, olive oil, and grill seasoning.  Ross to coat and place in oven; roast 20 minutes.

3. Remove from oven and add wine/broth and lemon juice to dish and stir in to combine with pan juices.  Return to oven and turn oven off.  Let stand 5 minutes, then remove chicken from oven.  To serve, spoon pan juices over chicken.

 

Leave a comment