h1

Broccoli and Mushroom Quiche

November 6, 2011

I’ve had some good ideas in my time.  Recently, for instance, I stumbled upon the fact that eating pomegranate seeds while eating a Reeses peanut butter cup is the most amazing thing in the world (thank me after you try it).  Possibly the best idea I’ve ever had in my life, however, came to fruition yesterday: brunch.  Now, obviously I did not come up with the idea of brunch.  I’d both be incredibly old and (since it’s such a fabulous meal) decently rich if I had.  No, I simply came up with the idea that as teachers we need something to look forward to all week…and brunch (which may or may not have included mimosas) would be the perfect thing!  So this Saturday I had some of the other TFAers who work at my school over for brunch.  Best idea I’ve ever had.  Everyone brought something (mostly from Walmart, but hey, not everyone’s a cook) to share and we ate and drank mimosas and tea (in my new tea set!) and just had an all-around good time.

Being me and needing to make something special and delicious, I decided to make a quiche!  Definitely an impressive brunch item, especially when lots of delicious veggies are involved.  The secret about quiches though, is that they’re actually really easy.  They look fancy and they take a bit of time, but most of that’s time spent in the oven.  The actual work you have to do is pretty minimal and it’s easy too.  This recipe’s for a veggie quiche mainly because I had vegetarians over and wanted to make sure they could eat the quiche too, but this is really just a great basic quiche recipe.  Substitute the veggies in for different vegetables if you want or get rid of the green stuff all together and go with bacon or ham!  Quiches are very adaptable.

Ingredients:

1 (9 inch) pie crust

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

1 tbsp flour

1/2 cup onion, chopped

1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced

1/2 cup broccoli, chopped

1/4 cup shredded swiss cheese

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Line pie pan with pie crust, and place a double layer of tin foil over the crust (it always seems like I never have tin foil, so I usually end up skipping this step and just baking the crust for about 10 minutes on its own.  This works fine, but the crust ends up puffing up quite a bit, so if you have the tin foil, definitely put in the extra effort here). Bake in the preheated oven for 5 minutes, and then remove foil. Continue baking until crust begins to set, about 5 to 7 minutes; remove from oven. Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees F
2. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs with milk and flour. Stir in onion, mushrooms, broccoli, and swiss cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Pour mixture into hot crust.
3. Bake quiche at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes to one hour. The quiche is done when knife inserted in center comes out clean. You can cover the edges of the crust with foil if it starts to brown too quickly, but I usually don’t find that a problem.

One comment

  1. […] delicious food, which is of course always a good reason to do anything.  I made another delicious quiche, this time with onions, spinach, mushrooms, and roasted red peppers.  It was possibly even more […]



Leave a comment