h1

Slow Cooker Chicken Chili

September 29, 2011

Teaching does not leave a lot of time on the weeknights.  My school doesn’t let out until 3:40 and then I have after school tutoring most days, so I don’t get home from school until 5:30-6 most of the time.  Tonight was definitely one of those limited time nights.  We actually don’t have tutoring this week (everything gets re-arranged during homecoming week), but coronation was tonight at 7.  Now I don’t know if coronation is something specific to the South or just something specific to the Delta, but let me assure you, it is like nothing I ever saw in Ohio!  Nearly 2 hours, 88 students in dresses and tuxedos being presented in a precession, and a highly choreographed “Waltz.”  It’s a trip.  Suffice to say, there was not going to be a lot of time to make and eat dinner tonight before the ceremonies began.

But, no worries, in my hour of need I turned to my slow cooker.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but my slow cooker is literally my favorite kitchen device.  Whoever invented the slow cooker is a god.  I don’t know what I would do some days without it.  I just threw all the ingredients for this chili in the pot last night and put it in the fridge.  This morning, I just took out the pot, turned it on low, and let it do its thing all day while Katie and I were at school.  We came home from school today, and the first words out of her mouth were “oh man, that smells amazing.”  And it did.  With very little effort on my part we had a fabulous chili dinner and got a little taste of fall, a must, given that cool fall weather and scenery is something we’re severely lacking in the Delta.

Add to this recipe what you’d like.  Add some diced onions or jalapenos if you have the time.  If you want to change things up, swap black beans for the pinto beans.  This recipe is a great go to when you’re in a rush and need something to cook itself, but is also a great base to work off of if you have the time to chop up extra ingredients and make things interesting.  I also love the leftovers of this chili on nachos the next day.  Yummm.

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 (24 oz) jar of salsa

1 clover garlic, minced

3 tsp cumin

2 tsp chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

1 (11 oz) can of Mexican style corn, drained

1 (15 oz) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed

1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes

 

Directions:

1. Mix all ingredients together in a slow cooker.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

2. About 1 to 2 hours before you want to eat, shred the chicken in the pot with 2 forks and continue cooking.

3. Serve with cheese, sour cream, green onions, cilantro, etc.

Leave a comment