h1

Spicy Black Bean Soup

September 20, 2011

I LOVE soups.  I love how easy it is to make soups, how you can throw it all in a pot and just forget about it.  I love the way they taste and I love that warm feeling you get from eating a bowl of soup (completely disconnected from the fact that the soup itself is literally warm).  It’s the end of September and my biological clock is telling me it’s time for soup season!  And though the state of Mississippi thinks it will deter me from eating soup by keeping the temperature in the 80s, ohhhhh no.  There is too much Ohio in me.  Nothing can stop me from making soups once I get that fall feeling.  So let me warn you know.  Today was the first of many days of soups that will stretch from now until February.  Get ready.

I also love spicy foods.  And cumin.  There is literally no such thing as to much cumin in a recipe.  Yum.  This recipe as written is not for the weak at heart.  When I say “spicy” black bean soup, I mean it.  Cut down the chili powder or take out the jalapeno if you are not a huge spice person.  Otherwise you are going to need to serve this soup with a LOT of sour cream.  Don’t let that warning deter you though!  This soup is absolutely delicious, you just need to make at whatever spice level you are comfortable with.  I like to serve this soup with some cheddar cheese and crushed up tortilla chips (although I didn’t have any today, boo).  I’m not a big sour cream fan, but I know other people are, and if you are definitely serve this soup with a dollop of sour cream on top!  Yum.

Ingredients

2 (15.5oz) cans black beans, drained and rinsed

1 can diced tomatoes with green chilies

1 jalapeno pepper, diced

6 cups chicken broth (substitute with vegetable broth or water if you’re a vegetarian)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp chili powder (cut this down to 1/2 tbsp if you want to cool it down a bit).

1/2 tbsp cumin

1 tsp cayenne pepper

3/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker.  Cook on low for 8 hours, or until ready to serve.

2. Serve with cheese, sour cream, crushed tortilla chips, green onions…basically whatever strikes your fancy.

2 comments

  1. What can I sub in for the chicken broth if I don’t eat meat?


    • Sorry, I should have added that in the recipe! I’d recommend using vegetable broth instead. You could probably do water as well if you don’t have that, but the flavors would probably be better with vegetable broth.



Leave a comment