h1

Corn and Crab Cakes

September 16, 2011

I love crab cakes, they are delicious and seem so fancy!  With this recipe they are also really easy!  They’re held together with creamed corn rather than an egg (or even mayonnaise) like other crab cakes which in my mind makes them seem healthier…though frankly I’m not sure if they really are.  Whatever, they’re delicious either way.

I made these crab cakes for the first time last year and they were a big hit!  My roommate raved about them.  I made them again for my best friend when I visited him in the magical land of Chicago for New Years and he caught the bug too!  Now this is one of his go-to recipes to impress dinner dates.  If all of this praise wasn’t enough, I’ll give you another example; I made these delicious crab cakes for my mom and sister when I was visiting them at home over the summer.  My sister really wanted crab cakes, but my mom was skeptical and said she didn’t actually like crab cakes.  Well, she tried these and loved them too!  Yep, she never really liked crab cakes before, but she loved these!  So basically the moral of the story is these crab cakes are fabulous and you should totally give this recipe a try.

P.S. These crab cakes are featured as the picture in the header of my blog.  And hasn’t that picture been tempting you every time you read a post?

Ingredients:

2 (6 oz) cans crab meat, drained

1 (8.25oz) can creamed corn

1/2 tsp hot sauce (optional, it’s totally delicious with or without)

2 green onions, chopped

1 1/2 cups bread crumbs, divided

3-4 tbsp vegetable or canola oil

Directions:

  1. Mix crabmeat, corn, hot sauce, scallions and 3/4 cup bread crumbs in a medium mixing bowl until well blended.
  2. Spread the remaining breadcrumbs on a plate and divide the crab mixture into 8 patties. Roll each patty in bread crumbs until the surface coated.
  3. Heat oil in a large non-stick frying pan over medium-high heat.  When the oil is hot, brown the crab cakes on both sides, about 4 minutes per side.

2 comments

  1. […] flavorful.  I made this chicken when my best friend came to visit me over spring break (along with corn and crab cakes); he absolutely loved it.  I sent him the recipe and he has made this dish numerous times back […]


  2. […] in his own arsenal of recipes, an impressive achievement that puts it in the ranks of my favorite corn and crab cakes.  Since Katie’s a big mushroom fan, she really enjoyed this chicken when I made it tonight […]



Leave a comment