h1

Spinach-Artichoke Lasagna

September 12, 2011

Love this recipe.  It is absolutely one of my go-to company recipes, especially when that company involves vegetarians.  I attempted to make this recipe last year for a lovely little dinner party I was throwing for 3 friends, 2 of which were vegetarians.  The fact that we were all teachers, however, really got in the way of that.  One of them ended up being sick (I’m gonna blame the kids for that one) and the other two had so much work to do that they had to reschedule.  This did not, however, stop me from making this lasagna, because darn it my roommate and I had our hearts set on spinach-artichoke-y goodness and the lack of company was not going to stop us!  Later that night I took some of the leftovers to my friend who was sick to make her feel better.  She seriously raved about this lasagna for a week!

I used my own homemade tomato sauce for this recipe, but feel free to use the store-bought stuff if that’s easier for you.  I’m just cheap, and I made this on a Sunday, so I had plenty of time to devote to making tomato sauce instead of just opening up a jar.

Ingredients:

cooking spray

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 (14.5 oz) can vegetable broth (or chicken broth if you’re not feeding this to vegetarians)

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 (14 oz) can marinated artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

1 (16 oz) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed dry

1 (24 oz) jar tomato sauce, or make your own with this recipe

9 oven-ready lasagna noodles

3 cups shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

1 (4 oz) package feta cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. In a large skillet, heat olive oil on medium-high. Saute onion and garlic for 3 minutes, or until onion is tender-crisp. Stir in broth and rosemary; bring to a boil. Stir in artichoke hearts and spinach; reduce heat, cover and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in pasta sauce.

3. Spread 1/4 of the artichoke mixture in the bottom of the prepared baking dish; top with 3 noodles. Sprinkle 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese over noodles. Repeat layers 2 more times, ending with artichoke mixture and mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle crumbled feta on top.

4. Bake, covered, for 40 minutes. Uncover, and bake 15 minutes more, or until hot and bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes before cutting.

Leave a comment