h1

Chicken and Dumplings…nom comfort food…

September 9, 2011

One of my roommates FINALLY decided to take me up on my suggestion that we split groceries and then cook together (read I cook for her and she cleans up).  Apparently she didn’t believe me when I said I LOVE cooking when I get home from school and that it’s way easier to cook for two than it is to cook for one.  We went to the store the other day, and before I went I was trying to plan a tentative menu for the week and running my ideas by her.

“Oh, it’s been a little chilly recently (read mid-70s), why don’t we have chicken and dumplings?!”

“What’s are dumplings?  I think I’ve heard of that, but I’ve never had them before…”

Yes my friends, my roommate (who is from Ohio, which makes this even less acceptable in my opinion) has NEVER in her 23 years of life had chicken and dumplings.  This isn’t the first time I’ve had someone tell me they’ve never had chicken and dumplings.  But seriously, every time I hear it I am astounded.  If you’re reading this and have also never had chicken and dumplings before, you absolutely MUST make this recipe.  It is ridiculously easy (as all slow cooker recipes are) and fabulous.  Plus, it’s a wonderful comfort food!  And who doesn’t need that every once in a while?

I like to make my chicken and dumplings with mixed veggies so I don’t feel too unhealthy about eating it.  If there’s veggies in it it’s automatically better for you…right?  But if you want a more “authentic” chicken and dumplings, just omit the mixed veggies, it’ll still be delicious.

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 (10.5oz) can cream of chicken soup and

1 (10.5 oz) can cream of mushroom soup

2 (14.5oz) cans mixed veggies

1 onion, chopped

1 (10oz) package refrigerated biscuit dough, torn into pieces

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Place chicken, soup, veggies, and onions in a slow cooker and top with enough water to cover.  Cook on high for 5-6 hours or on low for 8-9 hours (ie while you’re at work…).

2. About an hour before serving shred the chicken breasts with a pair of forks.  Then, place the torn biscuit dough in the slow cooker and switch temperature to high (if it’s not already there).

3. Cook until biscuits are no longer raw in the center.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Yum.

One comment

  1. […] and rainy in a day!  The changing weather has really put me in the mood for comfort food.  After Chicken and Dumplings, I think Tuna Casserole is one of my favorite comfort food dishes.  It’s easy, delicious, […]



Leave a comment